Gold medals for Finland and Canada at the 2019 World Ringette Championships in Burnaby

2019-11-30 23:38

Finland’s senior team and Canada’s junior team won gold in their pools on Saturday at the 2019 World Ringette Championships in Burnaby.

Finland Senior won the Sam Jacks Championship beating Canada 5-1 at the Bill Copeland Sports Centre.  Game most valuable player awards (MVP) went to Finland’s Maria Perkkola (number 30) and Canada’s Erika Kiviaho (10).

The tournament MVP awards for each team in the Sam Jacks Pool went to Canada’s Shaundra Bruvall (9) and Finland’s Susanna Tapani (11). Finland’s Anne Pohjola (10) was named MVP in the pool. Finland won two games against Canada this week to secure the championship. Canada was awarded the silver medal.
“It was a really tough and really intense game,” said Finland’s Katariina Kurikko (13). “We’re so happy because we have new players who get to experience this along with the older players.”  And she offered some advice to the younger players. “Have courage to actually dream and work really hard to achieve those dreams.”

The junior championship was decided Saturday evening when Canada defeated Finland 9-7.  Game MVPs were Canada’s Julie Vandal (28) and Finland’s Jenna Hakkarainen (11). The tournament MVP awards for each team in the pool went to Canada’s Britney Snowdon (77) and Finland’s Minka Tiihonen (20). Canada’s Mégane Fortin (51) was named MVP in the pool. Canada won two games against Finland to win the junior championship. Finland received the silver medal.

“We started out tight, but after we loosened up and realized it was just another day in paradise, we came back out and took our lead,” said Canada’s Snowdon. “Oh my gosh, the team’s ecstatic! I am so very proud of the whole team.”

The final game of the 2019 World Ringette Championships is set for Sunday morning at 9:40 a.m. (Pacific Time) with Sweden and USA playing for gold in the President’s Pool. USA moved to the final after defeating Czech Republic 9-6 on Saturday. Game MVPs were USA’s Chloe Field (97) and Czech Republic’s Petra Herzigová (6).  The bronze goes to the Czechs.